52 Week Personal Photo Challenge


Well, I’ve decided that my photography needs both some inspiration and direction. I take thousands of photos during any given year but they all seem to have the same subject: my kids, someone else’s kids, flowers or my dogs. In fact I’ve taken so many photos of the dogs lately they have started hiding when they see the camera come out. Poor little things.

I know that to personally develop and grow in the style and art of photography, one must take photos everyday and I just don’t think the dogs could survive another year of my camera always in their faces. Therefore, I’ve decided to give myself a personal photo challenge. I’ve scoured other sites for 52 week photo challenge themes and I’ve decided to make my own. I’ve set a few basic rules to follow.

  1. The theme begins on Sunday and at least one image on the theme must be posted by the following Saturday.
  2. Images can be captured on my Digital SLR, point-and-shoot or even the phone on my camera.
  3. Each image must be taken during the theme week. No scrounging back through last year’s photos for “a good one”. That would be cheating and the challenge is about taking new photos with new inspiration!
  4. Images are allowed to be post processed. I shoot in RAW and use Photoshop Elements 9.0 for post processing. My favourite actions come from Paint the Moon and MCP Actions. If you haven’t checked them out yet you should. They both offer freebies to give you a taste of how their products work.

So for those of you who wish to join me in my challenge, here are the first two themes for January. I’ve tried to choose themes that will both get me inspired to take photos of new subjects as well as advance my photography skills.

(Please note, this is not an officially sponsored photography challenge or contest. There is no other prize at the end then becoming more skilled in photography.)

Jan 1 – Week 1: Self Portraiture (because I take all the photos and never seem to be in them!)

Jan 8 – Week 2: Cold (winter in Canada – that’s a no brainer! I might as well start off easy)

So join me each week as I continue in my photographic journey. Share a comment or even your own image, or perhaps just be inspired to develop your own art of photography.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a reply.

