52 Pick Up: Architecture – Forgotten History


I took a little drive this week to spend some time with two churches I have wanted to photograph for a long while.

They are quaint.

They are a part of Calgary’s history and I have a bit of a soft spot for history.

But most of all they are full of forgotten, untold stories.

As I walked around the grounds, I couldn’t help but reflect on those stories and who keeps them.  Couples have been married, families have said good-bye to loved ones and I’m certain many have received peace and solace all within these walls of worship.  Now they sit at the side of a busy thoroughfare leading to down town Calgary.  People drive past these churches everyday and don’t even see them.

In fact it wasn’t until I was quite close to the second little church that I could see someone had tried to burn it down.  Now it sits there holding the stories of happier days within its burnt walls textured with peeling paint.  I will admit, despite the bright spring sun, the burnt little church in fact made me feel a little sad.  History often has a way of making me feel this way.  Perhaps it is the sense that maybe one day my story too will be forgotten.

13 thoughts on “52 Pick Up: Architecture – Forgotten History

  1. I love your 52 pickup project – what a great idea! These photos of the 2 churches are amazing. I especially love the last image, and how the window really pops.

  2. THANKS for visiting my “punny” photoblog and leaving a “like.” Your shots of this church and graveyard capture the timeless beauty and sense of stability of the scenes. Your photos venerate a venerable church.

    –John

  3. Beautiful photos…I, too, am touched by the sense of history in the old buildings that we find along the way, the stories we don’t know…and the ones that others might not remember. Very nice….

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a reply.

