Ramblings – iPhone Tourism


I recently became a tourist in my home town.

For whatever given reason, my photographer eyes were wide open and I was amazed by the sights around me.  I was surrounded by sculptures and buildings of old and new that I haven’t truly noticed in a really long time.  Funny how you take your surroundings for granted when you have seen them your entire life.

With iPhone in hand, I snapped some fun photos.  The sun was quite bright that day and I found I had a hard time really seeing what I was capturing, so it was a nice surprise to find some decent images when I finally had a chance review them.  I shot some of these with the inbuilt Camera app and others with Camera+.  I quite enjoyed using Camera+ because I was able to apply some fun filters right on my phone.  Of all of the filters, my favourite was Color Dodge.

The resulting images were fun, vibrant and quite a bit different from my usual form of photography.  I will admit I had quite a bit of fun being a local tourist and I had to giggle at the strange looks I received as I explored  Calgary on a chilly spring morning.  I learned two lessons from this little exercise

  1. I don’t need to lug around my big Nikon everywhere I go – in a pinch my iPhone works quite well at snagging some quick pics.
  2. I doesn’t hurt to open your eyes and take a good look around you every now and then.

19 thoughts on “Ramblings – iPhone Tourism

  1. First of all, your photos are lovely and delicate. Secondly, I couldn’t believe how quickly you found my latest post, and – if there’s an advantage to a small audience, it would be that I could see you were in the US. Imagine my surprise when I spotted these photos. So I have to ask, are you in Washington for the Photoshop conference? Because, if you are, it’s really a small world, isn’t it?

  2. Some interesting pictures. My favorite is the bus/train seats and then the sun through the tree. The first one is also good, but it makes me a little dizzy!

  3. Good to see a fellow 52’er. There are quite a few people who are quick to dismiss camera phones like the iPhone but they should keep in mind that the camera is a tool. Doesn’t matter if someone is shooting with an iPhone or a D4. It is not about the equipment. It is about getting the shot. “What is the best camera to use?” The one you have on you.

  4. These are amazing. I’m so amazed at how good the iPhone is at taking pictures. I want one so badly. I’m the only one in my house who doesn’t have one, but I can’t complain – it was that or my new camera so … maybe at a later time. Right now, I guess I have my hands fully just learning photography. I love these pictures.

    • I was amazed at the quality of these too. I haven’t explored using my iPhone camera for anything more than snapping quick pics of the kids. I think I will have to play around with this a little more. iPhone or DSLR I suppose you still have to learn your equipment.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a reply.

